Zettelkasten Forum

Hierarchical Branched Note Taking and The Archive App(is topography important?)

I'm very new to the Zettelkasten method of note taking.

My understanding is that Niklas Luhmann organised his notes through sequential numbering, sub numbering, and branching.

So his notes would be initially numbered something like

and when needed he would insert notes so it could become something like

1-1
1-1a
1-1b
1-2
1-2a
3-1a
3-1a-1
3-1a-1a
3-2a
3-2a-1
3-2a-1a
3-2a-1a-1

Then when writing Niklas could follow the physical topography of the notes (which also contained references to other more distant notes) and have an outline of an interesting line of reasoning/related concepts.

Is it recommended to use this hierarchical naming when using The Archive? Or is it more a hang-up of a pre-digital method that can be replaced with tags and links within the notes so long as the notes have a unique identifier?

Comments

• I've just found the following posts which seem to comprehensively respond this question.

Looks like folgezettel was the term I needed to search!

https://zettelkasten.de/posts/luhmann-folgezettel-truth/

https://strengejacke.wordpress.com/2015/11/01/you-underestimate-the-power-of-the-dark-folgezettel/

https://zettelkasten.de/posts/luedeckes-follow-up/

• @iiiii said:
    Is it recommended to use this hierarchical naming when using The Archive?

NO

Or is it more a hang-up of a pre-digital method that can be replaced with tags and links within the notes so long as the notes have a unique identifier?

YES

Will Simpson
    I must keep doing my best even though I'm a failure. My peak cognition is behind me. One day soon I will read my last book, write my last note, eat my last meal, and kiss my sweetie for the last time.
    kestrelcreek.com

• I will respectfully disagree with @Will here and offer a counterpoint.