Zettelkasten Forum

How are ÜÜ?

Hi there,

I'm new to all this and still poking around trying to understand how it is that you all organize your ZK.

Sascha, could you describe more clearly: ##L, ÜÜ, §§§. Ü1 and Ü2?

I watched intro video 3, but felt I was still not making intuitive connections. Maybe because I don't understand the german significance of things like Ü.

Any one else, please jump in!

Thank you

Comments

• Those are special tags.

• ##L was a tag for departments of my archive (L = Life, S = Sports,..) Those are not used by me anymore.
    • ÜÜ is a tag for the most central structure notes
    • Ü1 and Ü2 are tags for structure notes (1 = Toplevel; 2 = all other levels)
    • §§§ are helper to move some notes to the top when placed first in the file name.

I am a Zettler

• edited March 2019

I'd love to understand better the use of double ## tagging method, which makes me think where is the context? Also wanting to get a better feel for note naming. eg. 222222-topic??-notename
    § Buffer -Workshop Name
    §§§ Training
    §§§ Inbox ---- ?

Post edited by CarlB on
  • @Sascha said:

• §§§ are helper to move some notes to the top when placed first in the file name.

This doesn't seem to work in The Archive app but does work in nvAlt. I'm surprised the two apps have a different way of sorting by title. It looks like no special characters are being sorted as AFTER alphanumeric characters in 'The Archive'.

Are you still using this method or are you doing something else? Having buffer notes on top seems very handy.

• I sort my 'buffer' notes at the top of the sidebar with a Ω prepended to the note title and sorting Title Z First. This puts buffer notes at the top followed chronologically newest to oldest with date format. When a note has stopped its buffering function I remove the Ω and it falls back in its original chronology. similar to using §§§ to help with sorting.

Will Simpson