Zettelkasten Forum

Fantasy writing and Zettelkasten

OK, let's be honest : I'm like a kid with their favorite toy.

Mine is my Zettelkasten combined with Encyclopedia.

Some context : I was a professional artist who woke up a morning to find out that her long-life dream was to write books. I ended up writing five Fantasy books by accident, that I am about to finish, and wishing to make a living of them and my future books. That's the Terry Pratchett's story version, reality is a little more complex, but it's full of details, and it is a long story to tell. But you are not here for a story, you are here for a process.

Writing fiction : steps

Writing fiction has steps :

• Generating new ideas
  • Researches for accuracy
  • Decision : construction (world building, story, characters…),
  • Remember what was constructed
  • Creation
  • Publication.

Good news : Zettelkasten-chan can help with four of these steps ! \o/

• Generating new ideas : through linking ideas and linking them with parts of your encyclopedia, recording useful part of brainstorming session, manipulate pieces of information…
  • Researches : of course. That's the point of making a Zettelkasten. You can record inner debates and asking yourself "why did they make pitched roof in the North ?" or "why did they used wood in big cathedrals ?". You can answer it too.
  • Decision : you make your atomic character sheet, atomic land sheet, atomic everything. Atoms everywhere.
  • Remember what was constructed : you record, you find, your sheets works like indexes. With interlinking with your researches and brainstorming, you can remember how and why you made those decisions too.

New ideas and researches :

Creation is about making something new by combining old things and adding your insights, point of view, sensibility, personality or whatever piece of you.

What a luck ! Zettelkasten is all about that :)