Zettelkasten Forum

What are source notes, literature notes, permanent notes, atomic and evergreen notes?

Hello there! I'm pretty new to this method and if someone could clear what are source notes, literature notes, permanent notes, atomic and evergreen notes, it would be really helpful.
I also wanted to share my workflow with you all and any constructive criticism is absolutely welcome!
@Will @sfast @improveism @Vinho @ctietze I've just started to use it. I've decided to have one place to have source notes and one with my Zettels. Source notes, for e.g, would contain parts of an article which resonated with me or like a book summary (some long content and quotes).
Zettels, would be like my thoughts on it and what I understand from it. My Zettels would be heavily linked with related thoughts. I'm using Notion for source notes because I like the database view and I can relate it with my goals and projects and Obsidian for my Zettels because of obvious reasons.
Here's a snapshot of one of my Zettel:

(P.S: I'm pretty new so that's the reason it looks a little incomplete :P)

Comments

• Your Zettle looks really complex and with a lack of a basic structure. I’m also a beginner so don’t take what I say so seriously.

I suggest you forget about so many concepts like source notes, permanent notes, evergreen notes and atomic notes. I think you have read “How to take Smart notes” from Ahrens. That book made things harder for me, also because on YT you find a lot of trash related to that book that makes thing worse.

You should watch “The zettelkasten manifesto” by the creator of Zettlr, then you should read the introduction to a zettelkasten text that’s here on the “getting started” tab.

Go to the YouTube channel of this website and see how they process a book. Those are very informative videos.

I really believe your zettles should be more basic, like just the ID, tags, reference to other notes and if you want add some literature you consulted.