Zettelkasten Forum

I honestly feel like I have no original thoughts....

Ive been struggling so much with the concept of a literature note vs a main note. I understand that literature notes are meant to capture other people's thoughts, whereas a main note is supposed to capture my own. The thing is that I'm always learning, and I myself know nothing. When I connect ideas together, I don't feel any "claim" to them; in my mind, I'm connecting other people's ideas together. Of course, this begs the question: where do ideas come from? Are we all not born a blank slate? Is there even such a thing as "an original thought"?

Im studying mathematics right now and I keep a journal to record my "feelings" about whatever it is that I am learning. In this journal, I often connect mathematics with ideas from different, seemingly-unrelated fields. I also draw pictures, write poems, create stories.... I want to do this instead with a zettelkasten because I like the idea of atomic notes that I can link together (as opposed to the linear structure of a journal) - but there seems to be a formal approach to writing notes that doesn't exist with journaling. Apparently, well-written notes require references that indicate explicit distinctions between "my" ideas and another's idea.... How do I make the distinction?

Also, is it appropriate for me to include "feelings" and poems and drawings in a zettel, or is it best to include only theories and ideas?

What is perceived cannot be Perceiving

Comments

• edited November 2020

I guess I have had to struggle less with this because I enjoy writing in general and typing in particular so much, so I naturally tend to write something that comes to mind because it's fun to see characters on screen appear out of nowhere :)

That's more or less the hurdle I see there. I can imagine capturing an inspiring quote, being awestruck by the poignant aphorism, and there's nothing to take away or add to the quote itself. It just is.