Zettelkasten Forum

Newbie here, any completely jargon free plain English introduction available?

I am now retired but over the years have managed to scramble together a degree, masters degree and professional qualifications. But I was on the cusp of the changeover to computers and thus hand wrote stuff or had secretaries finish work. I am basically completely disorganised.q

I can vaguely see this is important stuff, I found you by reading about commonplacing, which I have mumbled about in my blog.

Is there a completely jargon free plain English introduction to this?

Post edited by Sascha on

Comments

• This is related to where I am coming from.

I think zettelkasten is something to do with sculpting words, much like the ancient Greeks sculpted stone, but I have not yet seen an overview

• The book How to Write Smart Notes has a good overview. Keep notes about what you know or are thinking about, one note per idea. Each note has a unique index number so you can reference them, and link notes to related notes by referencing their index numbers. Luhmann literally used slips of paper in a card catalog, which still works, but apps like The Archive are easier. But it isn’t just a way of storing your notes—there’s a kind of workflow to it so that you end up with something useful, rather than just a collection of stuff.

• @clivedurdle Welcome to the Zettelkasten forum - I've found it extremely helpful.

I am a new ZK user and was confused when I first started reading about it. There used to be a "Basics" link on the ZK web site but it has recently been removed - maybe being re-written?

Anyway, it referred to the following article which I found well written and clear:

https://writingcooperative.com/zettelkasten-how-one-german-scholar-was-so-freakishly-productive-997e4e0ca125