Zettelkasten Forum

Static Website (Hugo, Jekyll, etc.) as a Zettelkasten

Hi all.
Long time reader here. I'm a medical researcher and physician-in-training. I do a lot of knowledge work, mostly consisting of reading scientific articles, textbooks, etc. My primary outputs are peer-review publications, long-form essays, and blog posts.

I've been on the hunt for a personal knowledgebase for a while:
http://www.acuriousmix.com/2014/09/03/designing-a-personal-knowledgebase/

Christian wrote a response to my post a while back:
https://zettelkasten.de/posts/alex-designing-knowledge-management-app/

Over time, I've come to appreciate the timelessness and simplicity of plain text. I've abandoned most proprietary tools and now mostly keep notes in plain text in nvALT.

Still though, I am lacking. Ultimately, I would like a future-proof, connected web of artifacts from my learnings.

Locally, I can write markdown-formatted text notes and keep other assets (image files mostly) in the same directory. Then I can easily link to those files and then a markdown processor (Marked2) can render the images in html. Everything looks nice. This is a portable, timeless setup, so long as there is text and html.

To make the interface more useful and to possibly make my notes public, I've been thinking about using a static website generator like Hugo or Jekyll. Indeed, I've played around with both. It does indeed render the text files into nice html, and links are clickable. The cons are that both platforms impose restrictions on the file structure. Hugo is most flexible, but things I don't like: (1) cannot keep image files in same directory as text, (2) need to use shortcodes rather than regular markdown links to files.

In any case, I think a static website generator would be a nice add on to a plain-text zettelkasten, and could make a ZK more useable and shareable.

Has anyone done this? What do you think?

Comments