Zettelkasten Forum

Non-Programmer & New ZKN User Looking For a Program

Hi!
I'm a student, writer & reader and have experimented on and off with note-taking over the years. Lately as I (slowly) learn more about how we learn, I've been taking more notes and trying to find the right combination of notes and Anki and practice to incorporate & be able to use all the things I read.
Since my current system involves a series of quickly-becoming-stressful Scrivener folders with chapter summaries of books and random tips that I try to organize into folders, it seems like the comprehensive and more organic zettelkasten is the next step!
Unfortunately I'm running into some difficulties, partly because I don't know which program I should try. (I have come to the conclusion that as a helpless overthinker the best thing I can do is just start out and iron out the formatting and connecting mistakes as I go, much as I hate that idea.) I wanted to do Roam Research but it's too expensive and people are worried about its being closed source and all. Then I have downloaded Zettlr but I've heard Electron apps take up a lot of memory and I already have that headache on my phone and reeeeally don't need it with my computer too; I expect I'll make a lot of zettels once I get started.
From all the reading I've done I'm realizing that simple plain text is better. However tragically 1. I'm on Windows (so no The Archive or nValt or several others) and 2. [I hear a lot of people talking about org-mode and it looks like the closest thing but] I have not the least knowledge of coding. I can drag folders around and I can copy-paste CSS into Anki cards and kind of vaguely see "ah yes, here's where they've put the font name in" and that's about it. Is there anything anyone knows of that my non-programming brain can understand with minimal training?