Zettelkasten Forum

Trying to get this to work for me

First of all, if it sounds like I’m overthinking this, I almost certainly am. I REALLY struggle to get my brain to grasp concepts and I tend to have to think through principles very, very carefully in way too much depth before I grasp them. And this is also a difficulty with studying itself, as you’ll see. Once I get something, I do really well. Getting it seems to be a very specific struggle for me. I’m separately seeking an assessment about whether my brain is ‘meant’ to work like this and to see if there’s anything that I can do to work with it differently; in the meantime this technique is my attempt to work with it.

Okay, so I’m studying philosophy at undergraduate level in my own time without any previous experience of it, on a course with no tuition and very little structured material. We get a fairly brief overview of the key topics that we need to know, a reading list (that tends to be quite advanced rather than a ‘noddy’s guide to…’, access to past exam papers and the examiner’s comments, and that’s pretty much it. So I have to find my own ‘introductory’ level texts, and because it’s philosophy, everything is really a point of view or argument rather than a ‘fact’, so everything has to be read with that in mind.

Let’s say I’m studying Aristotle’s ethics, and let’s say there’s 5-8 key areas that regularly come in exams, and let’s say one of those is the Function Argument (FA). I find I’m simply not able to understand a topic (the FA here) until I have a broader view of the ethics in general and have read enough different texts to get a set of mental hooks.