Zettelkasten Forum

How to see the forest in the trees (or: Finding appropriate links)

So last night I spent a few hours working on my zettelkasten again, learning more and more about its principles applied in practice. I generally have bad experiences with tagging too much because it quickly turns everything too complex and fuzzy, and some of you as well as Luhmann himself seems to agree with this. Luhmann only tagged various entry points for strains of thoughts and this is what I have also done so far.

Now, I wonder, when you try to find specific zettel that you think are related to your current zettel, how do you go about filtering out those that do not fit? Do you just scroll through your zettel list and look at the titles in order to retrieve it? Also, if you just want to check whether other zettel might be relatable, do you just skim their titles?
That is what I have done in the past few days usually. Currently my zettelkasten is still small as I am just a beginner, so I still know where everything can be found approximately. But if I continue growing my zettelkasten-brain in the current pace, in a few weeks I will definitely have troubles finding relatable notes in less than 1-2 minutes. Now, in general I don't see anything wrong with that, because this also means I might find interesting links that I would have otherwise not found ('otherwise' being a hierarchical structure of notes or a traditionally categorized system). I just want to check with your feedback whether this more or less erratic approach is "baked into the cake" of the zettelkasten - whether it is a feature instead of a bug. ;) To me, this seems to be the case and actually pretty clever. The only two disadvantages I can see are that sometimes you might easily get distracted and lose focus (by e.g. trying to find zettel relatable to the concept of oversocialization but having to skim lots of zettel on totally different ideas) as well as time-consuming. So I want to make sure I am not wasting