Zettelkasten Forum

Reading Notes and Personal use of Zettelkasten

I hope that everyone Is well. I am new to the Zettelkasten system and absolutely excited to start. I wanted to know if anyone utilizes the system for personal use. I read on a broad variety of topics, primarily non-fiction and wanted to retain more of what I was reading. I needed a system for that and this seems to be one that might fit. Does it make sense to keep such a system if I am not producing anything such as a paper or a book or blog? My next question is how short should reading notes be. I do not want to break the flow of my reading though at the same time I want to capture the thought that was sparked in my mind. I do not want to underline or write in the margins any longer as I feel it is unproductive. Thank you.

Comments

• Hello.

I'm in the same boat as you. Most of my wanting to learn to use this more is for personal knowledge improvements more than any planned sharing. Now, I say "planned sharing", because I do find myself telling others about what I have learned, usually online in places like this, and having the ability to search and give answers from the Zettelkasten is great. So, I would say having a Zettelkasten makes producing a paper/book/blog easier, but it works just fine without that goal in mind for personal knowledge (though others have argued that to truly know a subject, you should try to sum it up in your own words all together, which goes very well with Zettelkasten principles).