Zettelkasten Forum

Hello, I’m Nori

Hi, I have been lurking around for a while now, really enjoying the discussions, so I thought it might be time to introduce myself.

I am a originally from Slovakia, but have been living in Norway for a decade now. I’m a researcher in data analysis, working with a lot of machine learning, and like to learn about a variety of things in my free time too. My interests range from the biophysics of movement through diet, pregnancy and childbirth, to neurodiversity, gardening, parenting, knowledge work and whatever else that catches my interest.

I have first heard about the Zettelkasten method about two months ago and it was a love at first sight. I always struggled with organising my notes and the organically organised chaos of Zettelkasten just makes perfect sense to me.

I started out using Obsidian. That is actually how I ran into the Zettelkasten, as I was originally only looking for a simple markdown editor. After a month and a hundred notes I could feel this was becoming very important to me and decided to move to an open source software instead - namely org-roam in Emacs. I’m new to Emacs, but fairly stubborn, so I have been steadily climbing its famously steep learning curve and I think I’m quite happy with my choice. The time when my Zettelkasten was hanging between the two systems, so to speak, was quite uncomfortable though.

I haven’t quite landed with my note-taking routines yet, but I have the most important bits in place. I use my trusted Bullet Journal for planning, journaling, tracking and fleeting notes, while any “knowledge” goes into the Zettelkasten with Zotero keeping track of the references.

I am very excited to see how things will evolve and looking forward to the interesting discussions here on the forum.

Comments

• Wow. One of those mystical emacs user. :) I thought I was one until I wasn't. Now, I wonder if this was all a dream.

Happy zettling!

I am a Zettler