Zettelkasten Forum

Hello from Chile II

Hi People!

I'm an geosciences investigator based in Santiago, Chile.

I found about Zettelkasten a few weeks ago while navigating Wikipedia on Systems Theory -> Niklas Luhman.

It was nice to know about it and got me really excited about the possibilities.

I try to apply systemic thinking on my research, complex systems and stuff, which is really interesting for me but also gave me an (pretty bad) information overload a few years ago. Complex systems theory allows you to see links between disciplines, which also can make hard to focus on one thing at a time.

I struggled through my endless master thesis process. It got me sick for real. Concentrating was sometimes impossible even for whole weeks. Gracefully I ended it well a few months ago and now I'm a researcher, in the meantime I prepare myself for doing my phd (hopefully 2024 in Berlin).

With renovated energies, I'm gradually managing to find a new flow for my work and personal life. A really important part is to develop a workflow, combining project management, journaling, synchronization/backing between home and work devices, code software integration.

I use to take notes by hand in a notebook. I have several of them filled with research logs, scientific articles notes, theory notes, ideas, day/week journals. I tried (space)emacs and org-mode a couple of years ago, learned the basics to left it completely a month later.

Now I decided to base my workflow on digital notes. I've sneak into doom emacs with org-roam, obsidian and vscode with dendron.

I'm inclining in favor of having a note-taking workflow integrated with vscode instead of emacs, as I program in vscode.
Other things that I'm starting to learn is Zotero and zettelkasten workflows.