Zettelkasten Forum

Should I be citing every source for a Zettel?

Hey everyone! I'm a bit new to the whole Zettelkasten system, but I think I've almost figured out enough to get started. The only thing I'm still confused about is how I should deal with citing the sources of my information.

For example, let's say there's a passage like this:

It’s important to understand the layers that make up a design, because getting those layers to work together is the key to creating designs that look good, that solve problems, and that ultimately influence your users.

For the Zettel, should I always start it with "According to [so and so]...", or should I just omit that and essentially present the idea as my own? And if I come across another source that slightly expands on this, how should I express that? And how should I deal with a source contradicting this information?

Comments

• Definitely don't present an idea as your own if it comes from a source! I keep a "References" heading at the end of every note that includes the relevant citation(s). I'll update this list if I find another reference that is important to the development of that note. This is separate from restating the idea in your own words, which is how you determine if you understand what the reference is saying.

Listing the author in the flow of the note is a personal choice. I tend to list the author in the note itself if an idea feels very intrinsically tied to that author, like in philosophy where one philosopher's writings on a subject can be very distinct from another's. In science notes, I tend to avoid listing authors in the note itself unless that author is unusual in their approach to a topic. Instead, I just keep a list of references in each note.

Contradictory information can be added the same as you would add notes expanding upon or supporting a given note. Make a note detailing the contradiction, and add links between the two notes.