Zettelkasten Forum

Hello from Chile. Thanks for make this page.

Hi y'all. I'm a scientific researcher from Chile. I'm at the end of my Ph.D in math and computer science.

I want to thanks to this forum and to the person that create the blog. I've been using the Zettlekasten method from 7 months and it really, but really speed up my research.

During my bachelor I always tried to digitalice my physical notebooks (I use them to make summaries and draw my ideas) to avoid carry a lot of weight with me an to access to the information quickly. I tried to scanner them and store them in evernote but it was uncomfortable to read and there is no advantage over a physical notebook when I have to create new ideas.

At the beginning of the covid I was in my second year of my Ph.D. I search for methods to digitalice ideas and be more productive and I find the PARA method. I tried for a time using this method with Notion, but it was hard to administrate and I don't feel like new ideas were flowing, and I think it was no useful to learn new things. So I continued with my notebooks. At this point I had about 20 notebooks full of things, and a lot of printed papers, and it was hard to find something inside them.

This year I was really lucky. I had and problem with the software that I use in my research and while I was looking for a new software in the list of repositories of Pop Os! I found and software called "Zettlr". Its name call my attention and I found this blog/forum. I was in shock. It was all that I wanted!!!!

I immediately adopted the zettelkasten method to my routine. I uses the software Obsidian to store my Zettelkasten, at the beginning was a little hard to understand how connect the notes and what to note about. But after a while, I stopped to take the zettelkasten method literally, and adapted it to my own.