Zettelkasten Forum

Using Zettelkasten for quickly revising a master's thesis

[[20220218133056]] Using Zettelkasten for quickly revising a master's thesis

CONTEXT
I have to re-submit a master's thesis which has been rejected with major revisions required and the longer I take to complete this, my degree extends further.

#Zettelkasten-method #cognitive-overload #quick-revision

I am relatively new to Zettelkasten (but have come across it earlier) and have just begun using Zettlr. I was trying to figure out whether for my use case, the method of Zettelkasten (which fascinates me) would be a good idea.

Previous experience suggests it is risky. I got hooked on Org-mode and Spacemacs spending time on setting it up when I had a deadline approaching. When I finally realised I was out of time, I quickly turned to drafting my work in Textedit (Mac) and polishing it up in Word for the final PDF submission. This was efficient given time crunch, familiarity with tools etc. and worked well for a shorter piece.

For (this) larger piece of writing (thesis) where arguments must be reworked and linkages made clear, Textedit workflows seem inferior, a bit non-existent/clunky and perhaps Zettelkasten+Zettlr can be a great aid given the nature of revisions required.

I am finding though that there is a high cognitive overload expended towards things like - is the file/folder tree structure logical and organised, is this the right way to write a Zettel, should I stick very stringently to a Zettel template offered by @ZettelDistraction, am I doing the linking right, tagging right, am I doing markdown aspects right (new to MD) so many doubts over I guess perfecting this system. Probably what led to this being my first attempt at a Zettel after much browsing through this forum, other forums/blogs like Zettlrs and so on, lots of delay. This is despite reading advice like this on not overthinking a first ZK note.