Zettelkasten Forum

<!-- --> How to use this

edited November 2021 in The Archive

I'm not a coder, but I'd like to able to "comment out" sections of a file (like a part of a video script I decided not to use but don't want to delete).

I see that I can open with !-- and close with -- in The Archive. I read somewhere that sometimes markdown wants three dashes at the beginning. What say you?

If I want to comment out a paragraph, is this a good way to do it?

!-- THIS PART SUCKS
Here is a bad paragraph.
Blah blah blah. --

EDIT: I had to remove the "<" and ">" because it commented out most of my post 😂

Comments

• To clarify, is this image the way to do it?

• @joegilder Great question; I'm interested in learning the answer as well :smile:

• Yeah, that's how it works :)

Some editors don't recognize multi-line comments, only in-line, so if you have line breaks in e.g. block like this:

<!-- start

middle

end
    -->

... then some editors will not show a different color for the block.

But the relevant Markdown tools to transform Markdown into HTML, PDF, LaTeX etc. usually do. Editors often just have trouble with syntax highlighting for this. (It's not as easy as it looks, I can say from experience ;))

@Sascha and I comment in article and book drafts extensively to collaborate. It's super useful, also to leave reminders to your future self when you write longer pieces.

Author at Zettelkasten.de • https://christiantietze.de/

• That's helpful, Thanks @ctietze

I couldn't remember how to do code. Silly me.

• I notice (and found this by accident) that if I bracket lines with ---, the lines do not appear when I preview them. For example, if I type:

---
    Line 1  
    Line 2  
    Line 3
    ---

The three lines and the enclosing --- do not appear in a preview.

Is this expected behaviour?