Zettelkasten Forum

Link types

Hello, I'm a psychology student from an Eastern European country. Currently I'm using the method to learn more about the neuroscience of emotions and personality psychology and how they are related to each other.

I was reading some neuroscience textbooks in the past few days and I wanted to take notes from them, because I know little to nothing about neuroscience. However, I have some trouble with finding connections between the notes in my Zettelkasten (probably because there are only two dozen notes and because I have deleted my previous Zettelkästen a few times).

I thought that knowing the types of links would help me with making the connections. These are the types of connections I know of yet:
1) Similarity between different ideas.
2) Difference between similar ideas.
3) Supporting evidence.
4) Contradicting evidence.
5) Argument (in my Zettelkasten there are argument notes which contain the premises taken from regular notes, plus a conclusion. The argument links link the argument note with the premise notes).

So, do you think that having a personal typology of link types is helpful in making more meaningful connections between ideas?

(P.S. Stupid me deleted my previous Zettelkästen because I wasn't satisfied with the connections I made. Most of them were of the type "This is a note about object X, this is another note about object X, I can sense a connection!", which is a link type better encapsulated with a tag. Because of that I got few insights over the months I had been using the method.)

Comments

• I have also studied psychology, though mostly social.