Zettelkasten Forum

Dealing with fields of knowledge/areas of practice sensitive to change (e.g. law)

Hello, fellow Zettlers!

Being fresh to both Zettelkasten method and this forum, I have to first and foremost ask for your forgiveness if this was already discussed or perhaps it is stupidly obvious, but I struggled to find any threads relating to the following conundrum: how to deal with fields of knowledge or areas of practice, which are subject to significant changes in relatively short time frames?

Example: I am a lawyer based in an EU member state, practicing in a global industry dealing with several fields of law (e.g. intellectual property or privacy law) which are subject to quite dynamic changes (due to legislative actions on EU and state level, ever growing case law, technological changes, etc.). Of course, some concepts fundamental to jurisprudence or terminology specific to a given field may stay relevant for some time. However, due to this high variability, when taking notes regarding more practical and recent issues I face the problem of dealing with "volatile" notes, which feel like they may unexpectedly, suddenly, in any moment become irrelevant, useless or even harmful (e.g. by severing an existing train of thought with a statement which is not true any more).

Maybe this is my lack of understanding, but I feel there is a meaningful difference between evolution of sciences (regardless of its pace), where old models or theories give way to new ones, which explain given real phenomena better, or where new evidence provide a fresh look on the reality;
and evolution of law, where due to constructed nature of legal systems and performative function of legal language, the legal "reality" may change in an instant, rendering prior statements describing this "reality" not so much obsolete or outdated as simply not true any more (or true exclusively within a bound time frame).