Zettelkasten Forum

Questions that arise after a month of ZettelKasten

edited September 2021 in The Zettelkasten Method

Hey there, I'm new to the ZettelKasten method.
I've about 100 permanent notes after a month and a half, as result of reading the last half of a book, and a half of two other books (one of them is 'How to take smart notes' :) ).
I ended up having notes with 20 words in them and notes with 110 words. My first question is what should be the limits of permanent notes' size?

Also, I spend a lot of time writing those notes, around half an hour per note, sometimes for two hours a day. I have a lot of spare time for the last month, but it is going to change. How much time do you spend on each note? How much time it takes you to decide to where to put the note in the ZettelKasten?

Last question, I have 13 index notes out 100. That sounds okay?

Comments

• There aren't really any "rules". The basic idea of the Zettelkasten method is that you create short notes, each of which is the statement of a single idea, give each note a unique ID so that you can refer to it, and make links between the ideas as and when necessary. Anything else is extra, and may come out of your individual needs. The method is very flexible, I find, and very simple. My experience is that adding elements to the basics doesn't usually benefit me much, if at all.

• edited September 2021

@Pitale

I echo @MartinBB 's comment. It sounds like you are off to a good start - just keep going! Don't worry about the length of your notes too much (mine vary from 100 to 500 and + occasionally) and don't worry about the time it is taking you to write them - you will become more efficient as you gain experience, but it will still take some time.