Zettelkasten Forum

Share your folders and note "types" -- here are mine

As many of you know I am new to Zettelkasten.

I'm curious how the interplay between sparing use of folders and "types" (a finite small set of tags on the form) -- for example, when taking notes on a book I consider this a buffer note (I use the haskell type syntax ::buffer ) and place it in my /fleeting notes folder. Fleeting contains anything from ::buffer notes to extracted highlights, to temporary documents etc.

This might become a ::literature note if the ideas in the ::buffer note are reworked to be my own (personal reactions -- things it reminds me of etc)

Finally a literature note becomes ::permanent (and goes in the /zettelkasten folder) when I have massaged it (into one or more) atomic, conceptual, not directly derivative -- but still, of course, referenced and possibly linked to the progenitor ::literature note.

Currently, and I'm in the midst of rethinking this, but my folders and types are as following -- note that any ::type under the /foo folder means that's where I put notes of that ::type. There are a total of 4 folders (or three if you don't count the .obsidian/::key ) and a number of types as seen below.

Any feedback is greatly appreciated.

Folder and Type Structure:

/fleeting
::buffer
::capture (highlights, cut and paste quotations, random thoughts, scans of physical zettles (more on that in another post), images etc)
/keyword
::keyword
/.obsidian
::key -- for example shows that ::permanent is not ::perm and ::literature is not ::lit, or that dd is fully digitized hh handwritten only, hd was hand-written but refactored into digitial-form etc.
/.obsidian/templates
/zettelkasten
::permanent -- anything here is assumed "permanent"
::concept
::structure
::project (I use this like a structure note but with order of sections / chapters, the entries of which are made up usually of links to )::concept notes

Status Markings:

• S/dd : full digitized only