Zettelkasten Forum

Glad to join the zettlers group! Have a few questions for you.

Super glad to be part of this community of top-level researchers! Hope to become as good as you soon.

I have a couple of questions, however;

• I don't want to start with a digital zettelkasten, so I've started the process of acquiring a novelink box and index cards from Amazon. But info online is considerably vague. I know I'm to use my fleeting notes for quick ideas or notes as they come, then my literature note is for learning purposes before transferring to my permanent note, then finally transfer singular ideas into my zettels. My question is how do I use this while reading a book or taking an online course? What do I need to transfer between these notes? How do I know I'm taking the ideal note? Do I look at it from the context of why I'm studying the note/book/course, or I'm to maintain an open mind?
  • Also, I don't know if there are copywriters in this group, but how can I use this method to boost my research ability? How do you use your zettelkasten system to research?

Thanks for your answers!

Comments

• I would suggest you read the blog posts about the Zettelkasten method. There is a ton of information there. I don't know where these ideas about "fleeting notes", "literature notes" and "permanent notes" come from, but as I understand it they were not part of Luhmann's method. I just take notes, and that is it. There is no such thing as an ideal note. There are notes that are useful, and others that are not. As you get used to the method you will discover what is useful to you for your work, and it may be different from what would be useful to somebody else, working in a different field.

• @MartinBB Thank you. I'll keep your words in mind as I continue on my zettelkasten journey.

• Welcome to the forums.
    Here are a few helpful links to prior discussions that might answer your questions.

Card-based zettelkasten

Book reading tips

Will Simpson