Zettelkasten Forum

One App to Rule Them All? Notion, Bear, Others?

Hello! I've been learning about and working on building my zettelkasten but I keep bumping into the issue of what platform to use. For a while I've been using Bear and find it super easy to use, plus I can export all my notes as text files for backups. But what do people use for raw data or anything that isn't research or writing related? And has your archive outgrown your platform?

I was sticking with Google Sheets and Airtable for a bit but recently I started playing with Notion. It seems like it has a lot of uses but I'm struggling to figure out how to use it for ZK. I was drawn to it for the database aspect and maybe for task management. The examples I've seen of a Zettelkasten in Notion, like making a table with links to zettels, seems like it would get cumbersome when that list of notes grows. In some basic testing I also found the search feature was not reliable. Is this how others here use Notion?

As for dealing with data, is there a program that seems to work well? Sometimes I just need to be able to access lots of information and have a good way to filter it or analyze it in order to learn something. I find Google Sheets to be a bit clunky compared to database programs like Airtable and Notion. On the other hand, Sheets can handle a ton of data and I don't have to pay a subscription.

I had accepted the idea that I'd be stuck spreading my second brain across multiple platforms to handle knowledge, data, and tasks, but then Notion made me think maybe it could handle all of it. Or maybe I'm just going in circles trying to find "the one app" that will do everything I want, do it well, and maybe even not cost a ton of money. I think now I'm just spending my time trying to get organized rather than doing tasks or deep thinking.

Any thoughts?