Zettelkasten Forum

Share with us what is happening in your ZK this week. March 24, 2024

Swimming with Ideas

This is yet another opportunity to share with your friends what you are working on. Add to this discussion by telling us about your zettelkasten journey. Share with us what you're learning. Sharing helps me and, hopefully, you, too. It helps us clarify our goals and visualize our thinking. And sometimes, a conversation sparks a magical moment where we can dive into an idea worth exploring. We'd love to hear more from you. 🫵🏼

Ideas I'm exploring with my ZK:

• My Zk is another story. I have a couple of new areas of attention–cogency and ambiance. I'm studying these terms and how they relate to ideation and love, respectively. Ah-ha, moment while writing this. "These two terms have a relationship. Something ambient is cogent when examined. Because of the naturalness of the products of cogent ideas, they are in the end discovered as ambient to the environment." I have a wealth (30) of ideas in my inbox. Each one is like a planet orbiting a star, a rocket ship sitting on the launch pad, holding in anticipation, each with the potential to send this zettelnaut into a lifetime of exploration. I feel like the richest man alive. Because I've shifted my attention to EDCI445 Young Adult Literature, my ideation processing queue has exploded. The pile sits there, taunting me. It is my collector self trying to steal my attention.

Words stand for things, things stand for ideas, and the world of things stands for the world of ideas. (In the flavor of John Locke.)

I attack my practice of zettelkasting with two prongs.
1. How do we feed this benevolent monster?
2. How do we surface the buried treasure that lies hidden in the sediment of our ZK? To quote the great @pseudoevagrius "I want my zettelkasten to be poetic, not mimetic."

Books I'm reading:

• Sertillanges, A. G. and Ryan, Mary. The Intellectual Life: Its Spirit, Conditions, Methods. 1987. PDF