Zettelkasten Forum

What ZK software can parse [[datetime]] ID links between notes?

I've been using Rene's Sublimeless Zettelkasten for a few years, building up a note archive that uses datetime ID links. I think The Archive follows the same convention.

• For example, if I create a note called "Test note" now, the text file will have the name 202310191918 Test note.md, and the link inside the software will look like this: [[202310191918]] Test note.

It would be interesting to try an alternative app/software at some point. I've looked around quite a bit, and I'm surprised about how few there are who supports this link ID syntax. Most software like Obsidian, Roam, and the like, uses the "[[full title inside the brackets]]" style, making them unable to parse my note link syntax. Some allows for choosing slightly different ID types, but usually never this specific one which I thought was one of the simpler ones.

For example, clicking the "test note" link in Obsidian would just result in the software creating a blank note called 202310191918.md. The only software I'm aware of can parses the datetime link ID type, are these two:

• 1Writer for iOS mobile phone
  • The Archive for MacOS

I haven't found anything that supports the datetime link ID for neither Android nor Windows. Are any of you aware of any software I've missed that can be used? All platforms are interesting, from iOS/Android to Windows/Linux/Mac. I'm aware it's a possibility to edit all of my notes using a Python script or similar to make them compatible, but that would break compatibility with the software I use today. Happy for any tips. Cheers

Comments

• You should try Zettel Notes (android)

Read more about the supported formats here in documentation https://znotes.thedoc.eu.org/note/editor/zettelkasten#wiki-style-links-between-notes

Play store link
    https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=org.eu.thedoc.zettelnotes

• Obsidian has a plugin to import [[ID]] type links.

I am a Zettler