Zettelkasten Forum

Hello from Uruguay

My name is Paribanú Freitas. I am a psychologist and university professor in my country, Uruguay. I am currently doing my doctoral thesis in "social studies" and I came to the zettelkasten method by different youtube content creators.

Through my work I have always been interested in the worlds of productivity and the articulation between educational processes and difficult resources of intellectual work. In fact, a few years ago I have been blogging on this last subject, although I do not publish very much on it: www.tdg.hypotheses.org .

Clearly for those of us who are knowledge workers at different levels (and especially if that knowledge is academic knowledge) I believe the zettelkasten method is really essential and definitive. Luhmann's productivity clearly demonstrates it and I do not understand how the teaching of the method in depth and in a practical way is not part of the educational grids at the university level.

Currently, along with researching and implementing the method in order to support my doctoral research, I am thinking of opening an extracurricular and open course at my university on digital tools for intellectual work, study and writing techniques, time organization resources and other skills and technologies to be "taught" by Twitch. There are already many students who have shown interest in the proposal and I love that it's on Twitch since I think I'm a bit of a geek despite my age.

Finally, this semester I have also created a discord community (in Spanish) for postgraduate students from Latin America. If anyone is interested, I leave the link in case it works: https://discord.gg/c7CX6TVExH

I'm glad I found this community and I'll be participating in it frequently for sure. Thank you so much!

Comments

• Welcome to the community @paribanufreitas. Like you, I think we need to center and teach more of these techniques in schools at all levels. I look forward to more of your thoughts.