Zettelkasten Forum

[Zettelfeedback] Life is a Tickertape

I'm a zettelkasten noob. This morning while in bed pondering zettelkasten and just ruminating in general the idea for this zettel popped into my brain. So I grabbed my phone and made a fleeting note "Life is a tickertape". Later I came and composed this zettel.

While I've been trying to begin my zk with notes from sources with the hopes of building it up over time, I also very much want to capture these kinds of musings. I fact it's an eye toward this kind of thing that is my primary motivation to create a zk.

Since I'm still new to this, I'd like to start off on the best foot possible, so any advice about what I'm doing here would be appreciated.

Thanks!

Life is a Tickertape

Date: 2022-12-31
Time: 09:12
Tags: #illustration #musing #question

Life is experienced moment-to-moment, like an old fashioned tickertape. This is how we receive information. Reading, lectures, podcasts, speeches, these are sequences of words. Music is sequences of sounds. Movies are sequences of pictures. All of these represent bits of information that come in one at a [[time]].

Similarly, reasoning seems to be a series of logical steps that take us from idea to idea to idea until we reach a conclusion.

In contrast, our [[brain]]s seem to operate as an interlinking network. At the lowest level it's a web of interconnected synapses. At a higher level our thoughts seem like a web of associations, similar to a [[mind map]].

Question: Since our experiences are sequential, but the organization of our thoughts is more of a network or web of associations, how to we integrate these concepts?

Contrast with [[gestalt]]

Post edited by Sascha on

Comments

• Hey there @Perry_Clayton!

I loved your philosophy and the way you wrote your zettel.