Zettelkasten Forum

New to Zettelkasten

Hello,

I am new to Zettlekasten,

I am an architect by trade and most of the examples that I see of zettelkastens are ideas or personal/professional development, research or writing etc.

I need to attend a ton of webinars to maintain my credentials so I get a lot of information about building systems, and products and when to use what type of insulation etc.

Not sure what to be putting into my notes or linking things, what is necessary and what is not. I would really appreciate someone more familiar with this system to help me get started on the right foot

Comments

• edited January 2021

Welcome! Have you already read through this article? https://zettelkasten.de/introduction/

As suggested by others in the past days: The blog posts by @Sascha and @ctietze are very helpful to start with. After that, I suggest you read what people in this forum suggested and discussed. Most beginner problems solve themselves automatically. Also: Start small and play around for a few days/weeks to figure out how you want to use your ZK.

As for your field of interest: One way of implementing your ZK in the manner of information on material could be to use structure zettels whereas each describes a certain application and links to the various materials you could be using. Each linked zettel could contain information to that material. Other zettels could deal with certain construction modes (I am not familiar with specific terms). Then there might be concepts for sustainable construction that have certain specifications, etc.

• I have read how to take smart notes. I have read the introduction and have been perusing the forums. Still having difficulty. I think where I am getting tripped up is that I have a special use case and have not seen how others have done it or just having someone to talk to about my use case would be appreciated.

• edited January 2021

Sorry, I edited my answer to be a bit more specific: