Zettelkasten Forum

Zettelkasten method and math related sciences

Hello everyone,

I am an electrical engineer PhD student and I try to use my Zettelkasten effectively, but there is a thing that puzzles me. In his book "How to take smart notes", Sohren suggests taking small notes for your slip-box. In my case, many of the ideas involve mathematical equations and graphs. I currently use the Zkn3 app, which sadly does not have math notation support. I would like to hear, how the physicists, mathematicians and engineers among you, build a Zettelkasten with equations and stuff.

Is it a good idea to have figures and mathematical equations on a Zettel ?

Any advice would be welcome.

Thank you.

Comments

• My research area is in machine learning and I deal frequently with equations and figures. For the figures, I just add them as images within the note. If it is a table from a paper, normally I just copy the relevant information into a markdown table.

For equations, I use latex. Many programs will render latex equations within markdown. My current workflow is to use The Archive. If I am looking at a note with a significant amount of math (or figures), then I use the shortcut to open it in an external editor (Typora). So far this is working well for me, but would be interested if anyone has a better approach.

• edited December 2020

Hey Ulver, I'm a physicist. Keeping everything simple, you could have your ZK notes in

• one folder as LaTeX files (light-weight text files)
    • another folder with photos from the blackboard, book pages from the library, screenshots from articles. Graphs as png images.