Zettelkasten Forum

How to start

I am new to this, and I have started creating notes following the suggestions of 'Read the Introduction to the Zettelkasten Method'. But with just 13 notes I already feel that I don't have an overview, which makes it already a little bit harder to create the relevant links (because then I should go over all the notes I have). What if you have 2000 notes? How does one keep knowing what notes one have so that they don't just sit there?
So am I missing anything? Is there a suggestion about how to go about it?
Should I create from the start possible structure notes? (And how does one find these structure notes in the growing mass of notes?)

Comments

• Hmm ,tips for general problems have to be general, too, which means you would need to figure out how (and if) to apply them to your case. It's so hard to guess where opportunities to create structures or overviews in your notes lie without knowing them intimately. And even then, the way I would create organization with the interests I have would probably differ from yours!

That's the beauty of structure notes, though. They represent and encapsulate hierarchies that don't conflict with one another. You can organize all your recipes in a recipe collection; and you can create an overview of banana-based recipes, like banana pancakes and banana bread and banana muffins, with the agenda to show how versatile bananas are, and even though the same recipes are linked from both structures, it just works. I'd like to stretch this example to show different viewpoints: the recipe collection is just trying to provide an overview of all recipes, and the other note, "Bananas are the most versatile cooking ingredient ever", makes an assertion and provides evidence in the form of many banana-based recipes. The recipe overview is a catalogue while the other note is making an actual claim you can use.