Zettelkasten Forum

Is Zettelkasten for every useful entry?

Hello,

I'm quite new to Zettelkasten, and have some questions for the using areas of it. I'm wondering that should I use Zettelkasten for every useful notes that I take?
For example, should I include even my workout program into my Zettelkasten and link it to my nutrition plan or to fit recipes? I'm also wondering that what is the place of to'do lists in Zettelkasten? Should I use Zettelkasten just for the ideas or for all the things that matter?

Thank you.

Post edited by melato777 on

Comments

• As an addition;

Let's say I'm studying the requirements for uptrend charts in an investing book. Should I transfer all the knowledge that I've acquired from the book to my Zettelkasten or should I use it, in a more compact form, as an idea web? I wonder how was the process of Luhmann's book writing. How did he use his Zettels to combine the knowledge and create a book?

• Welcome to the forums @melato777. Your question about what could be included in your zettelkasten is a common one. The big picture answer is, it's your's and you can do what you want. Some things will work and some won't. Just be flexible and make changes as they present. Some of us have traveled this path and have seen for ourselves things that work and things that don't. We can give you some advice that might help. Your mileage may vary.

The two use cases you mention. Fitness and studies on investment trending charts are both super topics for broad and deep integration with each other which might not be apparent at the onset. Putting these into your zettelkasten would very fruitful. You are lucky to have these interests as a starting place.

@melato777 said:
    Should I transfer all the knowledge that I've acquired from the book to my Zettelkasten or should I use it, in a more compact form, as an idea web?