Zettelkasten Forum

iPad(OS) and Mac-ARM-silicon

With the announcement of ARM-based Macs do you think there is a possibility we will see a 'proper' version of The Archive on iPads, as programming for all Apple-platforms and operating systems is supposed to become easier (even easier than now with Catalyst, already bringing iPad-apps to the Mac already)? I'm not a programmer and thus do not have the technical inside and knowledge, but as a consumer honestly for me it would be a strong argument for buying an iPad if I could read, annotate and use The Archive side by side on a tablet in combination with a stylus.

Thank you for your answers!

Comments

• First, I'm not allowed to offer any details about anything because of the Apple NDA.

Part of publicly available information is the fairly recent development of a new "language" (SwiftUI) to define user interfaces in apps. This makes the actual code super portable, in theory, and will power most of the cross-platform awesomeness in the future, I think. Problem is that the basic list UI widget is not able to smoothly scroll thousands of rows. So displaying a list of notes or search results is wonky.

With mere Catalyst, you will end up with a wrapped iPad version of the app on the Mac; that's not so great and doesn't look super native, so you'll end up adding a native macOS UI in front of it, aka the thing we already have. This means that I'd rather would have to add an iPad interface and leave the current Mac stuff as-is. That's the approach we all were going for before Catalyst anyway.

Side note: Since historically, iOS and macOS text views (aka the note editor component) have subtle differences in behavior, I'm not certain what would happen if an iPad-first app in Catalyst would re-cycle the iPad text view component and put it in a native macOS window. Will that work? Will that behave worse, because of Catalyst? Will that behave nicer than the decades-old macOS text view?