Zettelkasten Forum

Lurker ready to say Hello and ask about referencing

Hi Everyone,

First, a thank you to the creators of this forum! I've learned a lot over the past few weeks here. I am a writer and prospective PhD student (literature) and stumbled upon the idea of the ZK through DEVONThink. I found my way here via a series of links (I feel there's a joke here somewhere). For the past while I've been researching trying to determine the best tools to use (Mac) and, since I am a long-time Ulysses user, have settled on Bookends for reference management and The Archive (which is awesome) for my ZK.

My ideal workflow: Bookends pdf annotations on iOS - TA buffer + zettel - draft in Ulysses - final edit in Word + implement bibliography and formatted in-text citations. (I'm trying to avoid what I see as the unnecessary step of learning LaTeX tools only to write prose. Comments on this proposed workflow welcome.)

I haven't yet figured out a clear way to get these all to talk to each other, but I'm slowly piecing things together.