Zettelkasten Forum

Encryption, Secure File Management & Knowledge Work

Hello all, I'm relatively new here. Pardon me, because I have a lot of questions pertaining to file encryption. If there is one or more comprehensive web pages that can answer all of these questions, please feel free to drop it and carry on, I'd greatly appreciate it. I am a total novice in this area. I hope that this is the appropriate section that I am posting in.

Does anyone encrypt their files? Whether it be notes, pdfs, or any other sort of material that they prefer to keep secure?

How does file encryption affect your workflow as far as accessing documents (particularly on mobile) and managing them in other applications is concerned?

I'm trying to develop a scheme where I have a few files that are less-storage intensive kept locally and synced via Syncthing and have larger documents stored in the cloud. Is this a reasonable approach? One way or another, I'd like to encrypt both groups of files and maintain backups through Backblaze.

I'm aware of applications such as Veracrypt, Cryptomator and GnuPG -- which is the most efficient and reliable? Or there any alternatives? How will the use of vaults and containers by Cryptomator and Veracrypt affect the accessibility and utility of my files? For example, will file paths be altered and broken?

In addition, what sort of leverage can be made with a Network Attached Storage device (built with a Raspberry Pi for example)?

I hope that my line of questioning is not too exhaustive. Thank you in advance.

I look forward to engaging in future dialogue with you lot.

- `Abd

Comments

• The first question you should be asking yourself regarding encryption / security, is what your threat model is. Otherwise encrypting might be pointless or you might end up failing to actually protect against the kind of threat you want to be protected against, so it is always important to keep this answer clear in your mind.

Does anyone encrypt their files?