Zettelkasten Forum

Visual Studio Code (VS Code) extensions for ZK

edited April 2020 in Software & Gadgets

Based on this comment by @mlevison and comments by @jay_pee_ , let's start a thread to discuss pro/con and best practices for doing a ZK with VS Code. I have found four extensions that explicitly claim to be designed for ZK:

I am brand new to VS Code so I don't have opinions on them yet, but I would love to see discussion here and have people let us know about any other directly relevant extensions (but let's not discuss all of the 100s of general Markdown extensions available unless you have a particular ZK workflow you want to share).

I'm also interested to hear whether anyone knows which of these extension developers seem to actively engage with users and are open to feedback.

Comments

• I've tried off and on to use VS Code (or it's twin, https://vscodium.com/), and I'm also interested. So far, one of my big problems is the extensions either use their own custom link format for linking (so, I would need to translate things), or want the entire filename in the double square bracket (so... I would need to translate things). It would be nice to have one that either used The Archive format, or that let you define the ID for the links. I thought this would let me do that, but I couldn't make it work.

As for visuals, I liked VS Code Markdown Notes the most, it highlighted the inter-links great, and other things. None of them really did source code for Markdown (though not a lot did that either among Markdown extensions).

Professionally, I use Visual Studio Code for lots of things, so using for this would be great (my fingers already have some muscle memory for certain operations). I haven't been brave enough to try my hand at a rolling my own extension for what I want just yet.

Though, I'm trying to cope with the loss of an "omnibar" or "insta-search"...

• @mleo2003 said: