Zettelkasten Forum

Hello from a productivity-paralyzed writer

Hello! I'm an experienced technical writer (25+ years) working in software development. I am trying to write a novel. Several months ago I was excited to discover Obsidian and then, by way of Obsidian, even more excited to learn about Zettelkasten. But I'm having trouble finding my way past productivity paralysis / analysis paralysis (whatever term you choose).

There are clearly SO many ways to do this, and it's overwhelming.

I've been browsing this forum and seeing lots of posts saying that one has to find their own way of conducting their PKM and their Zettelkasten. However, I'd like to avoid investing a lot of time customizing a productivity system that I may not end up using -- I've done this in the past with other systems and find myself spending more time figuring out a system than I do actually using it.

I would love to have a list of simple steps -- here's exactly what you do, one, two, three -- that enables me to jump in and start using a Zettelkasten. And I would love to see some actual examples of what people have done. I've seen some of that in this forum, but I'm also a bit overwhelmed even by the forum.

Has anyone else struggled with this, and if so what you have found?

Post edited by hatomie on

Comments

• Welcome on deck! (Your re-post put this into the spam queue and I apparently didn't check for a while ಠ_ಠ)

I would love to have a list of simple steps -- here's exactly what you do, one, two, three -- that enables me to jump in and start using a Zettelkasten. And I would love to see some actual examples of what people have done. I've seen some of that in this forum, but I'm also a bit overwhelmed even by the forum.

The step that you'll find repeated a lot is: if you worry too much, worry less, and get going. That's important. Reflect on your practice and pain points over time, then adjust.

Author at Zettelkasten.de • https://christiantietze.de/