Zettelkasten Forum

tablet for zettelkasten

I'm new to zettelkasten and I'm thinking about buying tablet (I have no tablet now) for reading, anotating reads, makinkg biblio and sometimes fleet notes. I'd like to integrate tablet, smart phone and computer to share notes across theses devices.

Which tablets do you use for those purposes and integration?

Thank you very much!
FranČesko

Comments

• @franCesko said:
    I'm new to zettelkasten and I'm thinking about buying tablet (I have no tablet now) for reading, anotating reads, makinkg biblio and sometimes fleet notes. I'd like to integrate tablet, smart phone and computer to share notes across theses devices.

Which tablets do you use for those purposes and integration?

It depends on what software you plan to use. Some (most?) ZK software works on a computer but not on mobile devices, so you find alternate software that operates on your mobile devices as a work around. I use The Archive on my Mac laptop and then 1Writer on my iPhone or iPad to read my ZK files, which are stored in a Dropbox folder.

I think there are a number of software / hardware combinations people on the forum have tried, so you will likely get other good suggestions.

• In 2023, this is still surprisingly tough.

My TLDR is: try to not get a tablet? :) Maybe an e-reader to carry lots of texts around. But don't bet on getting a lot of Zettelkasten stuff on any device to your total satisfaction.

For reading, e-ink ebook readers should be good because their batteries last forever and they, well, supposedly read like paper. No glaring screen. Easier on the eyes.