Zettelkasten Forum

Should I append the datetime UID to the end of the file name instead?

Hi, I am new to Zettelkasten method and trying to evaluate the format of the notes for myself. It will be for note-taking digitally.

Most software adds datetime to the beginning of the file name. It looks tidy. But a series of numbers means a little to human. If I browse through the file names in a small window of a file manager, I can only see the digits without meaningful titles.

The advantages of placing datetime to the beginning of file names is tidy and sortable. I think.

Any thought from you is appreciated. Do you think it is a good idea to append the datetime after, what is the pros and cons?

Comments

• Welcome to the forums @linux.

It depends on what software you are planning to use.
    Many programs support custom note names right out of the box. Some require a bit of tweaking.

I name all my notes in the Title UUID format for the reason you point out. I made the switch when I had less than 1K of notes. I thought I'd discover some workflow snafu that would send me back, but after a year and 1500 more notes, I have forgotten what it was like to stare at a collum of UUIDs, not seeing the note titles because my laptop didn't have enough screen real-estate. I will not go back. With some regularity, I visually refer to the UUIDs, so I'm keeping them in the note file name.

I use The Archive and have created a few Keyboard Maestro macros to fix where The Archive expects the UUID in front of the filename. But it turned out to be trivial.

Given your user_name, I suspect you won't be using The Archive and have a bit of geekiness behind you, so unforeseen hazards can be rectified or sidesteped. GIve it a try. You can always change your mind and use a cmd-line tool to mass rename the files or a SQL-query in the case of a DB to change things.

Will Simpson