Zettelkasten Forum

A condensed version of Sascha's intro

Hi. Here is yunpeng! I am new to Zettelkasten Method and just finish reading the intro written by Sascha. It is really awesome and concrete. However, I think some parts of it are duplicate. I combine Sascha's intro and my own understanding to write a condensed version of his/her intro. Any advice is welcomed! ;););)

1. What

Zettelkasten contains many atom thoughts and this method chains each thought together by their unique addresses. This web of thoughts makes it convenient to visit from one thought to another.

Thus, this method underlines the connection between different knowledge. On the contrary, stacking notes linearly just leads to a bloated mess over time. This non-linear organization just allows our mind to scale with the number of thoughts (organic growth) and still remain clear, thus can tackle numerous complicated problems.

2. How

A zettel is the minimum part of the Zettelkasten. This section is going to introduce how to construct a zettel, connect to other zetterls and use these zetterls to make a difference.

2.1 Zettel

A zettel is composed of three parts: unique identifier, body and references.

2.11 Unique Identifier

The only requirement for the identifier is unique. Because it represents one single note. There are many formats of identifier.

1. Lumann-ID. It consists of numbers and alphabets (1a1, 2b4, 3d). This formatting just shows hierarchy naturally.

1. Time-based ID. A sample time-based ID would be: 202006110955. Year 2020, 11th of June, 9 am and 55 minutes.
  2. Arbitrary string. It can be title of your zettle or the citekey of one paper (e.g. Devlin_2022_BERT)

2.12 Body

The body is just one atom thought and its extension. That's it.