Zettelkasten Forum

Do you throw away literature notes?!

Hi there people. I’m fairly new to the zettlekasten system. I have some things to ask you guys.

Do you throw away your literature notes and fleeting notes after turning them into permanent notes?

I have been taking literature notes for a couple of days now and it’s getting difficult and difficult lately to organize them.

Should I just throw them away?

Or should I keep and organize them despite it taking a lot of time?

Or should I keep them without organizing?

Should I keep fleeting and literature notes?
  1. Should I keep fleeting and literature notes?17 votes
    1. No throw them away
      29.41%
    2. Keep them and organize them
      64.71%
    3. Keep them but don’t organize
        5.88%

Comments

• I have a bit of a different system than most in this forum. I have three Google Drive folders - "permanent notes", "fleeting notes" and "literature notes". No organization other than using keywords and links. I don't throw any of them away (yet).

• But there’s a huge friction in your system. Taking fleeting notes have to be as frictionless as taking a pencil and start writing.

• edited August 2022

It depends what kind of knowledge you take away from the source.

If it suggested a theory, I'd link to the literature note as evidence/data for the theory.

I keep all literature notes because sometimes I want to remember what I took away from a specific book or article.

Sometimes I take nothing away because nothing said resonates with me or my research.

Zettelkasten is love. Zettelkasten is life.

• Keeping them all. I use my ZK also as my literature repository. The organization is that every source (book, article) gets its own literature note, named as Author(s)_Year_Title). This literature note contains the reference, a link to the digital source and any reading notes. Links to this literature note go on the relevant hubs or literature lists.