Zettelkasten Forum

Not shown titles and spaces

edited June 2022 in The Archive

Hi there,
I am new to the Zettelkasten and experiencing some issues with spaces and missing titles (see screenshot below). I bought and reinstalled the Archive last week.

1. I miss the titles here. The Zettels where the titles are shown were written with an older and unregistered The Archive-Version.
  2. Is there an option to remove this space?

I am using Mojave 10.14.4 on an MBA13 (yes - i dont want to upgrade because Big Sur + suck on older Macs).

Thanks in advance.

Comments

• @andreas_n, welcome. I hope I can help a little.
    First, the name listed in the "File List" is not directly tied to the first line within that file. They can be different, and one could be missing, as I think is happening in your case. To confirm, look in the directory with Finder and see if there is a file named 202206191319.md or txt. If so, this is the culprit. To add the title to the file while in The Archive, right-click and select Rename.

Second, the #2 gap is a function of the monitor size and a few settings in the preferences.

In the setting below (mine), the text will flow across a max of a 90-character line length. If my monitor is broader than this, the 90 characters will be centered in the editor window, and there could be a large space in the area you point to. To confirm this, there should be equal space on the right side of the text.

Making the "File List" window wider will help if it is the problem.

I'm not sure if I've helped or not. Let me know.

Will Simpson
    I must keep doing my best even though I'm a failure. My peak cognition is behind me. One day soon I will read my last book, write my last note, eat my last meal, and kiss my sweetie for the last time.
    kestrelcreek.com

• edited June 2022

Thanks for the warm welcome @Will - you helped a lot.