Zettelkasten Forum

Feeding the Beast

Hello zettelkasten forums!

I've just recently gotten started with the zettelkasten method, and I find it intriguing and I'm looking forward to seeing how it affects my life, as I have ADHD and it's very easy for me to pick up knowledge and then later lose it due to time away from a subject, and it looks to me as though the zettelkasten method will help me with that.

I've noticed one "problem" as I've started with it however. I've seen the expression that people's zettelkasten are "hungry" and need to be "fed", and having started to use the method I like the expression a lot, it feels appropriate. Whenever I start writing notes it feels as if everything I say has branching possibilities for things that I should make additional notes on.

For example, I am a software engineer, and unlike most of my other interests my knowledge in this domain has remained solid for a long time because it's the topic I spend the most time in. So far I haven't put any notes into my zettelkasten on topics of software because I'm concerned that it will become a huge issue of time. I have accumulated much knowledge in the ~15 years I've spent building software, and I feel like if I put down the first note I won't be able to stop feeding the beast for a very long time.

So I would like to ask two questions: first, how do you all decide on a stopping point when writing and cope with the fact that there's more you could write, and second, how do you keep track of places that you know you could expand on later but have decided not to do so yet in such a way as to allow yourself to come back to it later during some time you have set aside to feed your zettelkasten?

Comments

• Welcome to the forums @srasu.