Zettelkasten Forum

Hello

Hi,

My name is Erich. I found this forum about a year ago when I came across the concept of Zettelkasten in a YouTube video. I have learned much from entries in this forum, other online sites, and the book entitled, How to Take Smart Notes.

I am not sure why I am so drawn to the Zettelkasten method other than to help me retain and build upon my thinking. I am a Program and Management Analyst within my organization and feel I can also use this capability in research and writing efforts.

I currently use my iPad Pro with iA Writer for my Zettelkasten. So far, I have about 10 notes and my goal is to add a few each week.

1. My current structure for Permanent notes is:

YYYYMMDDHHMM [UID]

Note Title -

Note body text

Tags: #Name of tag

Links: YYYYMMDDHHMM - Title of note [I hand type the link but do not use the Markdown hyperlink capability. I visit the link by copying and pasting it into the find text feature.]

References: YYYYMMDDHHMMR - Last name

1. My current structure for Reference notes is:

YYYYMMDDHHMMR [UID - R is added to the end to denote reference]

APA cited reference

Optional high-level notes about the reference text.

1. I have a Zk_Vault directory with 3 sub-folders including:

Zk_Fleeting - [I use a similar UID naming structure like other notes but add an F to the end of the date-time stamp]

Zk_Permanent

Zk_Reference

Look forward to learning from the group.

Comments

• Welcome aboard, @Erich!

I don't think we have any iPad-first (and only?) user here, so it'll be interesting to hear about your workflows!