Zettelkasten Forum

Zettlr and internal link

edited March 2022 in Software & Gadgets

Hello,
Is there anybody using Zettlr (I am on windows)? I have a question regarding internal linking and I must misunderstand something.

I would rather use a link-as-search to be as future proof and software agnostic as possible. I also prefer to use a UID internal to the body of the text instead of using a filename as I am very new to this and still changing my titles. To create an internal link, I copy the UID number of the filename (without the title) at the top of the body of my zettel. Then in my second zettel, I open a [[]] and inside I paste the UID number of the first zettel. The [[UID]] becomes green. When I hover on it it says that the file is not found. When I click on it, a search is launched and I have my two zettels that appear in the search bar but the target zettel does not open automatically. Is it normal? Should it only open in the search bar?

I saw that a "#" was sometimes set before the UID (in the body) of the zettel of origin. Is this necessary besides to denote that it is the zettel of origin?

Thank you and sorry if it is a bit messy (or very obvious), I am totally new with markdown and all of these softwares!

Comments

• How are you obtaining the IDs? Use ctrl-n to create a new markdown file. Use crtl-Shift-L to copy the ID of a new file, and ctrl-V to paste it. If you want the title to appear in the listing, use this syntax at the beginning of your file:

# ID Your title

There should be exactly one space between the heading level one character # and the ID, or else you may see files with more spaces listed above the directory you chose for your Zettelkasten.

To show the titles with the filenames in the File Manager (the leftmost pane),
    set Preferences > General > Display files using > First heading level 1 if applicable. Your files will be located by ID and you will be able to change the titles without changing the filename.