Zettelkasten Forum

Question about zettelkasten numbering

Hi, I'm just getting started with the ZK system. I have a question about numbering: I get that the numbering sequence should proceed 1 2 2a 2b 2b1 2b2 etc. according to whether notes are roughly related to one another. If I had a note that wanted to insert between 2 and 2a in that sequence, because I thought it was very closely related to 2, how would I label it (or perhaps it doesn't really matter and I'm overthinking it and should just stick it in as 2c )?

Thanks!

Comments

• This only really matters if you are using a paper method. Search the blog for "folgezettel" and you will find a lot on the topic, or you could start here: https://zettelkasten.de/posts/kinds-of-ties/

I use The Archive (Mac application), and have my notes numbered using the time-date stamp that is default in that program. I've never used the 1, 1a, 1b system.

• With the numbering system you describe, the notecard could be labeled 2+a to indicate that it was behind 2 and in front of 2a.

You are not overthinking note labeling. This is an important step in a physical notecards system. Not so much in a digital system.

Will Simpson
    I must keep doing my best even though I'm a failure. My peak cognition is behind me. One day soon I will read my last book, write my last note, eat my last meal, and kiss my sweetie for the last time.
    kestrelcreek.com

• Thanks for your help! I'm using a digital system, so I also have unique date stamps, but I thought it would be useful to also have a numbering system, to get an immediate sense of where a note is in the whole database. I'll mess around with a few ideas and see what works best