Zettelkasten Forum

todo.txt markdown task apps for mac

My ideal workflow has .txt files used by The Archive, my writing app (Ulysses) and, ideally, todo.txt markdown app that culls through my planning files and pulls out tasks in todo.txt format to manage and... do. Suggestions for an app that can work with the same files as The Archive and consolidate and manage tasks?

Comments

• edited April 2021

@DeaconPatrick said:
    My ideal workflow has .txt files used by The Archive, my writing app (Ulysses) and, ideally, todo.txt markdown app that culls through my planning files and pulls out tasks in todo.txt format to manage and... do. Suggestions for an app that can work with the same files as The Archive and consolidate and manage tasks?

Have you looked at NotePlan? I've been using it for several months and love it. You might say I've never got out of the honeymoon phase. It is a subscription app (also available if you subscribe to Setapp) but well worth the money. It works (only) with plain text files and recognizes Markdown. It's replaced 3 other apps that I used before to accomplish the same things (todo's, bullet journal and calendar) and does it so elegantly.

• I use Noteplan 3 - https://noteplan.co

You could conceivably make a note folder in Noteplan and then point the Archive to it. The principles of Noteplan 3 are similar to the Archive to generate a future proof life 😀.

The only issue is that you have to choose the default file names extension (.txt or .md) as it will only read one, but this is easily done in settings. The default is .txt so that should work for you.

To find where Noteplan's location is kind of strange because of Apple's sandboxing (or something like that) but if you follow the link you will find it.

~/Library/Containers/co.noteplan.NotePlan3/Data/Library/Application Support/co.noteplan.NotePlan3/