Zettelkasten Forum

Zettels, Roam, newsletter, individual and social

Hi everyone,
it's a great privilege to be surrounded by so many passionate and interesting people. I have thought about information and thinking for a long time, but only recently discovered Zettelkasten. I did a PhD in collaborative learning with technology, and our approach was very focused around technical interfaces to support argumentation, discussion and building meaning. I was deep into wikis, and open resources in general, and thought about how we could better support small "knowledge building communitities", as well as how we could benefit from the networks of people, whether it be on Twitter, or the early connectivist MOOCs.

At the same time, I was struggling as a PhD student to make sense of the literature, not only internalizing all the concepts and connections, but also the need to keep track of where I got the ideas, to be able to properly cite a few years later. I had nothing to build on (wish I had come across How to take smart notes many years earlier), and I invented my own system which was a Frankensteinian thing (Ruby, AppleScript, Keyboard Maestro, Google Scholar, Dokuwiki, Skim, Bibdesk, executing Javascript snippets in Chrome through Applescript sent by a Ruby script triggered by a global Keyboard Maestro macro... yeah...). However, the end result was very compelling.

However, I realize in retrospect that I was far too concerned with capturing individual articles. I did have one conceptual leap where I tried to use tags and what I would now call automatic backlinks, to gather specific ideas from a number of articles. I came across Roam last December, and immediately saw the similarities to what I had been trying to do 7 years ago - here's a video comparing my PhD approach, with Roam today.