Zettelkasten Forum

Zettel Staging Area / Projects / Workflows

Hi,

First of I wanted to say Thank You for creating and aggregating all this fantastic material! I'm new to ZK and have experimented with a variety of different approaches (digital and paper) over the last years and am trying out ZK for one of my projects.

I've been reading the Blog and Forum very heavily and have so far read half of "How to Take Smart Notes" (Die Zettelkastenmethode is still in the mail) and think I understand the general ideas and what a ZK archive should eventually look like quite well.

What I'm struggling with is how to deal with some of the intermediate steps of a learning project (and the workflow/organization). There are several great posts about how to deal with books (using paper notes for the intermediate notes before the final Zettels are created) but I couldn't find anything for how to approach a more general online discovery/learning project.

First a simple example: Say I'm reading one long & challenging article: I usually take notes, then review these notes and start aggregating knowledge, and then I assume I would start adding pieces to my Archive. But where do the temporary notes go?

A more complex example: I'm trying to learn the ZK method and as as a part of that I'll have to read many articles and posts, collect pieces from all of them, and then slowly aggregate some of the important parts into Zettels. This will likely involve both intermediate notes, lists of more things to read, etc. Eventually I'll likely want to discard everything but the actual Zettels.

One approach I was thinking of is having a "Project Folder" for this and I see some references to that here https://zettelkasten.de/posts/preparing-project-justice-hedgehogs/ but my understanding so far is that this is generally frowned upon in favor of the "everything in one place approach?"

I assume a lot of this depends on one's chosen tools but I would really appreciate any points that you may have.