Zettelkasten Forum

Anki as a supplement to Zk

Haven't been here awhile... always good to see the warm posts from @Will when I do!

Curious to hear your thoughts about "flashcards". I recently used them to get over a big hump.

I was trying to learn something specific in programming. It is a huge library, and although I am a fluent programmer (having programmed everyday for the last two decades), I was resisiting this.

What helped me over the hump was a combination of my Zk with Anki, a free flashcard system, which does spaced repetition. I think I now know the library I wanted to master really well: the size is what had been a hinderance and no longer seems to be. I made around 200 cards, and I know them inside out now.

Long term, of course, it is the zettelkasten that will help me with the big picture. But @Sascha or others: have you experimented with Anki and if so how has it worked out?

Comments

• edited September 26

@amahabal What are your goals?
    As you found out already, memory helps
    You use 20 rules of knowledge formulation already?
    In ZK i personally see two use cases for SRS:
    Solidifying in memory learned/encoded concepts/notes. You can write prompts (QnAs) right in the cards.
    You may code a solution which will sync prompts with anki deck automatically. Logseq has
    anki sync plugin that does this.

Pseudo-SRS - for keeping in memory some amount of unrelated ideas/concepts (which you can't connect to anything yet, or it just happened that they separate from everything by its nature) - you don't spend much effort here, you just reread/glance or briefly think about them.
    Majority of those items are not meant to live in SRS for a long time - some for several week, some for several months, until you decide what to do with them or until you decide that it's stable enough in your mind

As for processing multiple zettels - better use incremental reading/writing

Post edited by Ydkd on