Zettelkasten Forum

Numerology in the UID...?

I'm just getting started, so forgive me if this is naturally part of the method or just ... impractical in the long run, but so far it's been my experience that people think a lot about their UID's, copying them out if they're analog, and just... it's a lot.
So taking a note from Scheper's file, I started out with the larger "Academic Disciplines" but I knew for a fact, if I'm going to use this for my entire career as a Humanities professor, with diverse interests in Sciences, Maths, and pretty much everything, I was going to have to add another 0 to do those disciplines justice in the first place.
So I'm starting out with: (and I'm only going to show you the parts that I've kind of filled out so far)

10000 - Humanities

• 11000 - Arts (Performing and Visual)
    • 11100 - Music
    • 11200 - Theatre
  • 12000 - History
    • 12800 - English/British/UK History
    • 12900 - French History
  • 13000 - Literature
    • 1381[act.scene] (For some reason... when I was reading Bussy d'Ambois by George Chapman, I placed it here in Literature instead of in Theatre... If I recall, I had a reason for this. I don't remember what it was, though. I want to say it was because I was saving "Theatre" for like... theatre theory? Anyway, to explain this UID, 13 for literature, 8 for George Chapman being English, 1 for George Chapman the author/playwright himself being the first author and 0 will be for Shakespeare. )
  • 14000 - Philosophy
    • 1401[book#].[Stephanus number(paragletter)]Folgezettel# - 1 for The Republic, 0 for Plato

I have two separate systems going, apparently, in two categories under Humanities. But they both reflect something important, I feel.